I try my best to make a few meals ahead of time at some point in the week. I do my best to keep our evenings calm-ish, but living with chronic pain has taught me to cook when I can. If you’d heard of “spoon theory” (www.butyoudontlooksick.com) you know you’ve got to get things done when you have enough spoons, and prepare ahead for when you don’t. This applies to everyone though, regardless of it you’re swamped with life, know you might have a tough week, or just don’t know what your week will look like. No matter the reason though, it’s always a good idea to have a few meals in the fridge or freezer for when things go a little haywire.

This week’s make ahead meals are below and I manage to get them done in about 2 hours (after the grocery trip).

Slow Cooker Jambalaya Recipe  (whoops! I forgot to add the shrimp & celery. shoot.)

Cabbage Rolls Recipe – I made 2 trays because they freeze really well.

Chicken Coconut Curry  – I threw everything in the bag and tossed it in the freezer!

Chicken thighs in teriyaki sauce. Ok this doesn’t need a recipe – it’s just thighs marinating in teriyaki sauce from a bottle. Bake it ’til it’s done! Serve over rice.   

Shepherd’s Pie as a microwave warm up meal. Everything is cooked and layered. Ground beef with onions, frozen corn, frozen peas, cooked carrots (I don’t like frozen carrots), and mashed potatoes.  

